Profile: much more than a translator


Portrait d'Alison Sabedoria

Alison Sabedoria, B.A. (Hons) Architecture (© Wilbert van den Berg)

“In 20 years as a freelance musician I learned to be 100% professional. You can’t tell a concert audience to come back tomorrow!”

I am British, a native English speaker, and French has been my everyday language since moving to France in 2002. Translation had been an important element in my work for many years, but it was only in 2009 that I felt ready to offer my services as a professional freelance translator.

My childlike curiosity drives me to investigate how things work and I enjoy solving practical problems and puzzles. This is just as well, as translation involves a lot of detective work! This technical side, reinforced by my architecture and horology studies, complements my more artistic and literary leanings.

Apart from being a translator, I  am also a writer, artist and musician, with over 20 years experience of creative freelance work. This allows me to bring a rare mix of specialist knowledge to my translating work and to translate French documents into an English that is correct, natural and stylish.

My passion for poetry was born of translation, and my passion for translation was born of poetry

I am a bilingual poet, writing equally in English and French, sometimes as two parallel versions. A keen amateur naturalist, I enjoy following research into animal and plant communication and – of course –  that of humans, too!

I have complementary skills in Old and Middle French, Middle English, Latin, German, Ladino et Occitan.

Practical by nature, it is not unusual to find me with my sleeves rolled up, screwdriver in hand…

Profil : bien plus qu’une traductrice


Portrait d'Alison Sabedoria

Alison Sabedoria, B.A. (Hons) Architecture (© Wilbert van den Berg)

“In 20 years as a freelance musician I learned to be 100% professional. You can’t tell a concert audience to come back tomorrow!”

Pendant 20 ans en tant que musicienne freelance, j’ai appris à être 100% professionnelle. Pour un concert, on ne peut pas dire à son public de revenir le lendemain !

D’origine britannique, je me suis installée en Auvergne en 2002 et le français est devenu la langue de ma vie quotidienne. La traduction a toujours été un élément important dans mon travail, mais ce n’est qu’en 2009 que je me suis sentie prête à proposer mes services en tant que traductrice professionnelle en freelance.

Mon esprit curieux « d’enfant » me pousse à comprendre le fonctionnement des choses et j’aime résoudre des problèmes pratiques et des énigmes. Tant mieux, car la traduction comprend beaucoup de travail de détective ! Ce côté technique, renforcé par mes études d’architecture et d’horlogerie, complète bien ma prédisposition plutôt artistique et littéraire.

En plus d’être traductrice, je suis aussi écrivain, artiste et musicienne. J’ai travaillé plus de 20 ans en freelance dans des domaines créatifs, ce qui me permet d’apporter à la traduction un mélange rare de connaissances spécialisées, et de traduire vos textes français vers un anglais correct, naturel et élégant.

Ma passion pour la poésie est née de la traduction, et ma passion pour la traduction est née de la poésie

Poète bilingue, j’écris mes poèmes aussi bien en français qu’en anglais, parfois en deux versions parallèles. Naturaliste amateur, j’aime suivre des recherches sur la communication entre les animaux, les plantes et – bien sûr – les humains!

J’ai des compétences complémentaires en vieux et moyen français, moyen anglais, latin, allemand, ladino et occitan.

De nature bricoleuse, ce n’est pas rare de me trouver les manches retroussées, tournevis en main…