Luxury Marketing


Pierre Balmain adjuste une robe sur Ruth Ford

Pierre Balmain & Ruth Ford (image: Carl Van Vechten, 9/11/1947, viav Wikepedia Commons0

Quality is not a luxury!

According to Rohit Arora, there are 3 main motivations for buying a luxury brand*: - self assertion - differentiation - genuine appreciation for product excellence

An investment with a high return

In the world of luxury goods, one must not lose sight of the essential. A sublime product, seductive photos, a poetic text: no expense is spared for these elements of a marketing campaign. It is perfectly normal for their budget to run to thousands of euros. And how much will be set aside for the translation budget? A few hundred? Maybe, with a bit of luck…

All words do not have the same value

Entrusting your translation to an agency which might be unfamiliar with the field, pressurises its translators for the lowest rates or against the clock, or uses the first translator available, who might not even be a native speaker of the target language, can turn out to be a costly mistake. It is obvious that the 5 words of a key strap line demand  much more time and care than 50 words of basic information text, yet most translation agencies only count the number of words and all are charged at the same price.

Part of the creative process

In marketing, it is often necessary to adapt texts, rather than simply translate them: that’s transcreation.

If translation is born in mind from the initial concept stage of a campaign and throughout the copywriting process, the impact of one consistent message can be kept in two languages, for two different cultures. Think of your translator as part of your creative team!

Clients I have worked for include a specialist luxury silk shop in Lyon, Paris shops selling high-end luminaires and designer furniture, and a top name in French couture, now a global brand.

* Rohit Arora, Strategic Planning Director, Bates Pan Gulf (BPG Group), Dubaï, UAE: 8 Ps of Luxury Brand Marketing

Marketing de luxe


Pierre Balmain adjuste une robe sur Ruth Ford

Pierre Balmain & Ruth Ford (image: Carl Van Vechten, 9/11/1947, via Wikepedia Commons)

La qualité n’est pas un luxe !

Selon Rohit Ahora, il existe 3 motivations principales à l’achat d’une marque de luxe* : - s’affirmer - se différencier - montrer qu’on apprécie vraiment l’excellence

Un investissement à haut rendement

Dans le monde du luxe, on ne doit pas perdre la notion de l’essentiel. Un produit sublime, des photos alléchantes, un texte poétique : tous les éléments d’une campagne de communication réussie. Que cela soit compté en milliers d’euros, c’est normal. Mais quelle somme sera consacrée à sa traduction, qui ouvrira la porte sur un marché important ? Quelques maigres centaines d’euros ? Avec un peu de chance, et encore…

Tous les mots n’ont pas la même valeur

Confier votre traduction à une agence qui ne connaît pas le domaine, qui pousse ses traducteurs au prix le plus bas ou qui, contre la montre, utilisera le premier disponible, même quelqu’un de non-natif dans la langue cible, tout ceci risque d’être une erreur onéreuse. C’est une évidence que les 5 mots d’un slogan clé réclament beaucoup plus de soin que 50 mots de texte d’information, mais la plupart des agences de traduction ne comptent que le nombre de mots…

Un élément du processus créatif

Souvent, dans le marketing, il faut adapter le texte plutôt que simplement le traduire : c’est la transcréation.

Penser à la traduction en même temps que la conception et rédaction de votre campagne, c’est assurer l’impact de communiquer un seul message cohérent dans deux langues, dans deux cultures différentes. Votre traductrice peut faire partie de votre équipe créative ! 

Je compte parmi mes clients une boutique spécialisée dans la soie à Lyon, des magasins de luminaires haut de gamme et de meubles design à Paris, et une des plus grandes maisons de couture françaises, aujourd’hui devenue une marque mondiale.

* Rohit Arora, Directeur de la planification stratégique, Bates Pan Gulf, Dubaï, EAU : 8 Ps of Luxury Brand Marketing