Transcreation: when translation is not enough


bocal de bonbonsWordplay, humour, cultural references: these key ingredients in marketing are often untranslatable.

The words can be translated, and yet the message might still be lost. Transcreation is the art of rewriting to evoke the same feelings in readers of another language. The text needs to be adapted to the cultural habits that colour their mindset.

English is the key to the huge doorway of today’s global marketplace. When clients send me a text to translate as the last link in the chain, I often say to myself, “If only they’d come to me earlier…”. If translation is born in mind from the initial concept stage of a campaign and alongside the copywriting process, the impact of one consistent message can be kept in two languages, for two different cultures.

Your translator is part of the creative team!

Transcreation tends to be charged on an hourly basis, like other creative services. Translations are normally charged simply by the word. Calculated like this, the five words of an advertising campaign could be “translated” for around 1€! But once we understand that transcreation might demand at least as much time, imagination and creativity as it took to devise the original slogan in French, it’s easy to see that this is not very realistic: who is going to spend a vast sum on gorgeous visuals with a seductive text, pay 10,000 € for a whole page in a newspaper, then cap it all with a 1€ slogan that falls flat? Yes, it might be utter madness, but it happens. If you believe your slogan is worth at least 20 minutes of quality thinking time, you do the maths…

équipe

II sometimes prefer to agree a fixed price for regular work (often a mixture of transcreation and more straightforward translation), or an all-inclusive price for the whole project. This allows clients to manage their budget without any nasty surprises.

I have adapted slogans for licensed products of global brands such as Disney, Oxbow and Hello Kitty.

Transcréation : quand la traduction ne suffit pas


bocal de bonbonsLes jeux de mots, l’humour, les références culturelles : ces ingrédients clés du marketing sont souvent intraduisibles.

Les mots se traduisent bien, mais pourtant, le message se perd. La transcréation est l’art de réécrire pour évoquer les mêmes sentiments chez les lecteurs d’une autre langue. Il faut adapter le texte aux mœurs culturelles qui colorent leur esprit.

De nos jours, qui dit « marché global » dit « anglais » : c’est la clé qui ouvre une vaste porte. Quand on m’envoie un texte peaufiné, à traduire en bout de ligne, je me dis souvent « Hélas ! s’ils m’avaient parlé plus tôt… ». Penser à la transcréation en même temps que la conception et rédaction d’une campagne, c’est assurer l’impact d’ un seul message cohérent dans deux langues, dans deux cultures différentes.

Votre traductrice fait partie de l’équipe créative !

La transcréation est facturée plutôt à l’heure, comme d’autres services créatifs. D’habitude, la traduction est facturée simplement par mot. Calculés de cette façon, les 5 mots d’un slogan de campagne de communication peuvent se « traduire » pour environ 1€ ! Mais une fois qu’on comprend que la transcréation réclame au moins autant de temps, d’imagination et de créativité que la rédaction du slogan en français, on voit bien que cela n’est pas très réaliste: qui dépenserait une somme importante sur des visuels alléchants avec un texte séduisant, et ensuite achèterait une page de journal pour 10 000 €, pour y afficher un slogan à 1€, qui tombe à plat ? Oui, c’est de la folie mais, malheureusement, ça se voit. Si vous croyez que votre slogan mérite au moins 20 minutes de réflexion, faites vous-même le calcul…

équipeParfois, je préfère négocier soit un forfait pour le travail régulier (souvent un mélange de transcréation et de traduction plus classique), soit un prix fixe pour le projet, qui permet au client de gérer son budget sans mauvaises surprises.

J’ai adapté des slogans et des textes marketing pour des produits licensiés de marques mondiales, comme Disney, Oxbow et Hello Kitty.